Alachua County Schools Open August 13th – Back To School

All parents are doing their best to ensure that their children get the best education while the kids, on the other hand, feel like they don’t need formal school education because of the strict laws that are involved. Education laws are to ensure and maintain the quality of education in any part of the world. In this article, we’ll look at the various education laws that are mandatory for students in Alachua County.

Compulsory Education

As a resident of the Alachua country or the State of Florida in general, it is required by every child that reaches a specific age to attain formal education. It can be a private school, public school, homeschooling, or any other means of acquiring a formal education. Florida law requires it for every child that’s between the age of six and sixteen to attend school, this is compulsory for every child, or the parent will face criminal charges.

Here Are Some Statutes That Govern Florida Education Laws;

  • All children that are within the age of six and sixteen years must enroll in school
  • If there is any student that’s not capable of attending school due to disability, a certificate of the exception must be obtained from the district school superintendent.
  • Each child should have with homeschool provisions; each child’s education should be evaluated annually and must maintain records and materials.

Failure to enroll a child in formal education within the specified age will lead to penalties. Failing to register your child in formal education will cause the parent or guardian to be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor. It is essential to enroll every child in formal education because it helps sharpen the brain of the child, puts a check on bad behavior and gives them the best opportunities as an adult to attain a good career. Every parent or guardian is advised to educate their child whether it’s in public school, public school, or even private coaching at home.

Parents must enroll their children in the regular schooling standard. However, there are a few exceptions where the law isn’t compulsory, like where religious beliefs are of concern. Provided the parents can meet the standards of accredited schools for both public and private school standards.

If the child is within the compulsory schooling age, he can obtain a work permit that allows the child to work outside of school hours. A parent needs to obtain a license. Parents allow their children to work without a permit. If the child gets into a dispute with an employer, the child will be unqualified to work in the first place, and you, as a parent or guardian, will get into trouble.

If a child reaches the age of 16 and hasn’t graduated yet and wishes to drop out of high school the parent must file a formal declaration with the district school board, The most crucial point to note is that every child should be schooled within the age of 6 and 16 years. A child who attains the age of 18 years is not subject to compulsory school attendance.

Punishments In Florida Public Schools

Dealing with kids can be a complicated process, and that’s why proper disciplinary actions have to implemented in schools to deal with lousy misconduct in schools. Some punishments are allowed in schools such as paddling, spanking, or any physical discipline that won’t hurt the child. Other states have already terminated any form of corporal punishment. However, in Florida, they’re still allowed to, but it has to be with the consent of the parent or guardian, and it has to be done with the supervision of an adult person.

Even though corporal punishments are allowed, rules must be followed before punishing any child;

  • Each corporal punishment must be used with prescribed procedures.
  • The principal must be informed and has given his consent to any punishment procedure.
  • The presence of an adult is required before punishing any child.
  • Parents must be informed about the situation.

Education laws can somewhat be challenging to deal with more, especially when it comes to handling state statutes. If you live in Alachua County or the State of Florida state and would like to get advice on educational matters, you can contact us at Massey & Duffy for proper guidance.

 

Share:

More Posts

The Law of Ladders

Injuries from ladders are very common during construction.  Often, these ladders are supplied by employers or homeowners in a faulty condition. In such cases, the

Send Us A Message

Massey & Duffy

Our goal is to help people in the best way possible. This is our approach to every case. Contact us today for a free consultation. 

Practice Areas